#MTBoS12days Yule Blog Challenge Day 4

#MTBoS12days   Yule Blog Challenge  Day 4  “A book I’ve read… a book I’m reading… a book I want to read…”

  • A book I’ve read…   Mathematical Mindsets:  Unleashing Students Potential through Creative Math, Inspiring Messages and Innovative Teaching by Jo Boaler.  I took her MOOC course a couple of years ago and saw her in person at the ICTM conference near Chicago this past October.  After the conference in October, I placed a hold on it at my local library (the library had it on order from another request!).   I got it the 2 weeks  before end of semester.  I do want to check it out again since I did a quick read without jotting/thinking through as much as I would like in the midst of the end of semester busyness.  It’s always good to have the ideas, research, activities in one place.  I do like her bilingual approach with maths and math 🙂   I still occasionally say maths and zed (for the letter z) and trapezium instead of trapezoid, etc.
  • A book I’m reading…  The Biblical book of Isaiah – Our church hosted a group for a Handel’s Messiah sing-a-long a few weeks back.  A passage I remembered hearing sung several years ago from Handel’s work was from Chapter 40  so I thought I would read through the book again – fairly lengthy and rich in content.  A verse in chapter 41 was an encouragement during my first year of teaching over 30 years ago ….‘Do not fear, for I am with you;  Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you, surely I will help you,  Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’  It was a good year!
  • A book I want to read… Redeeming Mathematics … A God-Centered Approach by Vern S. Poythress  I always am thinking WHY –  and I do appreciate some good philosophical thinking.  I have read some chapters of an earlier work by him although it may get postponed to summer reading.  I’m always looking for ways to mention backgrounds of mathematicians although briefly to show how worldview affects our thinking and doing.  Pascal, Descartes, Leibniz, Newton, Napier, Russell, etc.  Since it’s Christmas time – the lyrics of the Christmas carol “Joy to the World” were written by Issac Watts.  He also wrote  the lyrics to “When I Survey the Wondrous Cross” and many more English hymns.  In Geometry class I mention his book, Logic, or The Right Use of Reason in the Enquiry After Truth With a Variety of Rules to Guard Against Error in the Affairs of Religion and Human Life, as well as in the Sciences. It was used as a text on logic at Oxford for many years (and other places).

I usually am reading some mystery book, but not currently.  Sometimes it’s nice just to relax with some of the Christmas movies on TV and read some blogs.

 

Leave a Reply

