#MTBoS12days Yule Blog Challenge

A few folks are doing a challenge – since I rarely blog, I thought I would be challenged but not feel overwhelmed.

 

#MTBoS12days Yule Blog Challenge Day 1

“My Holiday favorites” (you choose)

  1. treats & recipes to share
  2. inexpensive gifts to give
  3. holiday memories

When my husband and I taught in southern Africa, we came back to the States for Christmas/summer break for 5 weeks to visit family and friends.    We visited a small bookstore that had a thin paperback cookbook of Scandanavian home recipes – mostly family recipes.    When we returned to Africa for the new school year I experimented with some of the recipes.  I always enjoyed sweetcorn since childhood (my dad grew some for a local canning factory on the family farm).  And scalloped corn or corn casserole or corn pudding was a favorite for the Thanksgiving/Christmas holidays and throughout the winter season.   After trying various ingredient amounts, I settled on the following:

Scalloped Corn

2 Tbsp butter/margarine

2 Tbsp sugar

2 Tbsp flour

salt and pepper to taste

3 eggs- slighly beaten

1 cup milk

1 can = ~15 oz of cream styled corn (I like Green Giant the best)

1 can – ~15 oz of whole kernal corn – drained

1 pack of saltine crackers

Melt butter in a large casserole dish, add sugar, cream corn.  Then add eggs.  Add flour, salt and pepper.  Add whole kernal corn and milk.  Add  some broken crackers to the mix – maybe 1/2 package to start with and add as much as you want.  Stir.  I usually break a few crackers on top to make a crunchy top.  Bake about an hour at 350 F  (Preheated)

Definitely high on my comfort food list 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

