Volumes of Solids of Cross-Sections

I had made a couple of models several years ago, but wanted to add to my collection.  And I want to have the students to actually make some this coming new year.  I used the 2015, 2014, 2013 AP Calculus AB exam questions.  Made an enlarged graph with Desmos, made a table of values with Excel, and some corrugated cardboard from old boxes stored for that “one day I’ll use these.”  I have used small nails to pierce the cardboard base that then goes into the standing card slices.  I haven’t done that step yet since my nails are in my classroom.  I may use the stickytac to hold the slices.  Hope to post pics when I put this together.

Enjoyed looking at other examples on the web

Wesley’s blog

Bowman’s blog

Leave a Reply

